The sad truth about dementia.

I volunteer once per week in the residential care unit of my local hospital. The place is populated with seniors with physical and mental disabilities that are unable to live on their own anymore. I don’t mean to say that in a disrespectful way at all, some of the seniors there are truly wonderful people, they are just unable to live on their own due to their varying medical conditions.

Anyways, to get to the point, there are people there that are suffering from forms of dementia (eg. Alzheimer’s). For those of you who don’t understand what dementia is, here is a definition from Dictionary.com:

-severe impairment or loss of intellectual capacity and personality integration, due to the loss of or damage to neurons in the brain.

Basically dementia is the rotting of one’s brain. People suffering from the disease have “holes” in their brain and whatever neurological connections that were in those lost sections are gone for good. Basically, dementia makes people lose memories, knowledge and eventually basic functions such as the ability to speak or the ability to reason.

So today, I had a conversation with a person suffering from dementia. The person clearly wanted to tell me something, but was unable to formulate the right words to communicate their thoughts. I tried hard to understand what was being said, but it was incomprehensible. The person clearly wanted to tell me something and seemed to be a little frustrated when I failed to understand.

Boy, I felt really bad, I imagined what it would be like to be in that person’s shoes. Not being able to communicate with others must be frustrating.

~ by hyeunny on September 30, 2008.

3 Responses to “The sad truth about dementia.”

  1. i actually totally understand this
    my grandma is actually having a huge hearing problem
    i was so sad when i last visited her, because when i talked her, she didnt even realize i was talking to her

  2. i feel your pain fello asian

  3. I can’t imagine myself in that position. That is why I dont plan to live till 70.

Leave a Reply

 
