Woah.

I don’t know what to say, I’m in some sort of zen moment right now. No, I didn’t take drugs by the way.

Today was a pretty normal day actually. I got up at 5:30 as I do every Saturday because I work the 6AM-2PM shift at the gas station. To clear things up, working at a gas station is NOT my full time job. I’m a high school student working part-time. It’s a fairly easy job and the pay is decent for the amount of work I do.

Anyways the weather was pretty ridiculous today, it was really cold and dark in the morning and then it got really sunny and nice and now it’s raining like crazy. I’m one of those people that shifts moods depending on the weather. So basically today, I went from sad to happy to sad again in the span of a couple of hours. Anyways, today wasn’t a very busy day at work so I found some time to read the newspaper. I read the Province (best newspaper in BC), every Saturday issue of the Province has a really good section with movie ratings and reviews. A particular movie review that caught my eye was the one for “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist”, the plot summary looked interesting enough and Michael Cera is one of my favourite actors, so I figured that I would go watch it after work. The gas station that I work at is conveniently located right across the street from a movie theater.

On a side note, this may  seem very loser-ish but I really enjoy going to the movie theater and watching movies by myself. I feel that when you go with friends, you get distracted from the actual movie and end up just goofing off and throwing popcorn at each other for the whole 1.5-2 hours. I like watching a good movie right after finishing my shift, it’s so relaxing, it’s almost like some sort of weird form of meditation for me. Also, I love the atmosphere at movie theaters, the big screen and awesome sound system really help you enjoy the movie much more. Downloading movies is lame.

Anyways, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist was a very strange, yet good movie. It’s basically a tale about 2 teenagers seeking true love that have a wild night in Manhattan filled with all sorts of ridiculous events. The movie was so ridiculous that I didn’t know what the heck was going on for a good half of the movie. In the end everything kind of made sense, but nonetheless, the story was very over the top and unrealistic, but it was still incredibly entertaining. What I really loved about the movie is that even after it ended, as I walked out of the theather, I felt different from when I had come in. I felt really good for no apparent reason and smiled to myself.

Afterwards, I was walking home in the rain and decided to stop by the bookstore along the way. I went in and started to pick up and read the backs of random books. I suddenly felt this overwhelming desire to freeze time and read every single one of the books in the entire store. I had some kind of a crazy temporary thirst for knowledge. Man, I think I’m going crazy today.

Wow, this post isn’t very coherent is it? Oh well, babbling is fun. I didn’t even get any sleep yesterday, I just lay in bed and thought about stuff for 7 hours straight. It actually feels like I’m going crazy right now. It’s a good kind of crazy though, my thoughts are racing wildly in my head, but at the same time I feel some kind of measure of peace that I hadn’t felt in a long time. Does this even make sense?

~ by hyeunny on October 5, 2008.

4 Responses to “Woah.”

  1. i believe you are crazy
    @-(“@) <- boxing kirby

  2. dungeon, i told u not to take drugs. why dont u ever listen to ur friends? 🙂
    anyway, yeah, i totally understand ur point with going to movies alone, especially since i have eric as one of my friends

  3. yeah man, taking eric to the movies is like taking an untrained dog to a funeral or something

  4. What are u talking about… Eric is good at movies and he behaves fine. I understand what your saying.

Leave a Reply

 
